The scope of work allocated to this Committee includes sales and trading, corporate finance and asset management. The Committee focuses on the regulatory environment and mechanics of the market for trading debt, currencies, equities, derivatives and interest rate products.

The lead authority on the work considered by this Committee is the International Organization of Securities Commissions (“IOSCO”). The Financial Stability Board is the principal domestic stakeholder for this Committee together with the South African Reserve Bank and National Treasury.

The Committee will be expected to support other Banking Association structures on technical matters pertaining to other legislation where appropriate, not only react to legislation but also shape and influence legislation before it is released for public comment.


© The Banking Association South Africa 2017