BASA is governed by a Board of Directors comprising:

  • The chief executive officers of Nedbank, ABSA, First National Bank, Standard Bank and Investec, who represent five of South Africa’s big banks
  • Two chief executive officers to represent international banks operating in South Africa
  • Two chief executive officers to represent the other South African banks
  • The Managing Director of BASA

Board membership from 30 June 2018, was:

Mr. Allan Pullinger

First Rand

Mr. Richard Wainwright

Investec Bank

Mr. Mike Brown


Mr. Vikas Kandelwal

BNP Paribas

Mr. Lungisa Fuzile

Standard Bank

Mr. Daniel Mminele


Mr. Mark Stadler


Mr. Karl Kumbier


Mr. Gerrie Fourie


Ms. Bongiwe Kunene

BASA Managing Director

Ms. Nonhlanhla Buthelezi

BASA Company Secretary

The Board Charter requires that the Chair be rotated every two years. Mike Brown replaced Maria Ramos as the Board Chair from 01 June 2018. Richard Wainwright took up the position of Board Deputy Chair.

Board Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a sub-committee of the Board that assists it in executing its fiduciary responsibilities. The committee is delegated some of the power and authority of the Board, in the management and affairs of BASA, between Board meetings.